The Island of the Gods

3 September 2009

Another early weekend for me, this will be my last scheduled trip out of Singapore until the last week of October. 

In a few hours, we will be on our way to this island in Indonesia called Bali. I have always heard good stuffs about this place ever since I was a kid. Now is my time to really experience what this so-called mythical island can offer me.

Since I am a cheapskate, we will be taking the cheaper (and much longer) route going there. Instead of flying direct from Singapore, we will be flying to Kuala Lumpur and from there we will take a flight going to Denpasar, Bali. This in the process saved us almost 100 SGD per person at the time of our booking last 31st of July. The total airfare of Air Asia for this trip cost us a 200 SGD – it is still pretty expensive considering our average total cost per trip doesn’t usually exceed 300 SGD.

What am I excited about? These three pictures that I goggled over the weekend are the things that I am looking forward to the next few days… (click on the image to be redirected to the URL source)

Babi Guling

Babi Guling

Lush Paddy Fields

Lush Paddy Fields

Beach & Surf

Beach & Surf

Oh yeah, according to the weather forecast, we should be looking forward to a sunny weekend. Let’s cross our fingers for this.

weekend weather forecast

I will try to update this blog while in Bali; please note the word try… 😉 Otherwise, I will be sharing my experience once we arrive this coming Sunday. Whatever the case may be, I shall greet everyone a pleasant weekend ahead in advance!

8 Responses to “The Island of the Gods”


  1. I envy you, man! Everytime I visit your blog, laging may bago kang napupuntahan. At least you have the luxury of time, and money. LOL

    I’d include this in my to-do list for next year: to travel! = D


    • Gasul, thank you for dropping by this humble blog of mine…

      Time? I basically just take one day or at most two (just like today) every once in a while.

      Money? Budget tour bro (except maybe this trip) but usually our trips are just less than 250 SGD. For this, we have to forego some stuffs but in the end it is okey since we really love to travel.

      Cge go, explore the region while you are in the position to do so. 😉

  2. Pepin Says:

    Enjoy the trip!

    Bali is really a nice place!

    That’s a good move to go to KL first. Another cheaper option is to take the bus to Johor Bahru, then fly to KL. Johor-KL is cheaper that SG-KL (most of the time).

    Enjoy!

  3. Eunice Says:

    hello!! never been to Indonesia before and heard that Bali is an interesting place to visit. wow it’s really cheap to fly there at $200! does that already include taxes and admin charges? keep me posted! looking forward to your Bali posts. 🙂


    • Yep, it can get even cheaper if you time it with the seat sale of Air Asia… You should try going to Indonesia, it is a very different place and very interesting.

      And yeah, this already includes all the taxes and admin charges.

  4. nina Says:

    Nice ah! I hope you and Babes had a great time 😀


    • Hello Nina…

      Trip was very good, not Boracay beach but we love the place… Simply there are so many things to do and so many places to see. You have to go there, meanwhile you enjoy Boracay muna. 😀


Leave a Reply

